The last weekend of summer vacation

Ds4 (and a half!) starts preschool on Monday.  His older brothers (despite my disapproving looks when they express it in front of him) are ecstatic.  They forget they were once four and just as four as their four year old brother is now.  Ds4 is excited, too, and has some of his friends from last year in his class again this year.  I’m excited for the four mornings per week to shop study alone.  It looks like I’d better take full advantage of that time for doing my school work, working out, grocery shopping, etc because I think I’ve found the place where I will be doing my internship.

It’s in private practice where I did not expect to ever work, really, but I have to be confident that God is trying to show me where He needs me.  Sure, when I was a 20 year old psychology/sociology undergrad I imagined that I’d eventually be that Hollywood stereotyped clinical psychologist/therapist but eventually working in a community agency setting became much more appealing.  I’m not interested in selling myself and if you’re going to pay the bills doing private practice, you’ve got to advertise your services and rely on referrals.  In community agency there are quotas to fill but the work is steady.  For whatever reason I have now been given an opportunity to do my clinicals in a private practice setting and so I am embracing it and cannot wait to get started.

The practice is beautiful, warm and inviting.  It’s not at all clinical-feeling.  It’s literally like walking into a friend’s home and sitting on her couch to chat.  Except your therapist is NOT your friend.  ‘Cause that’s a breech of ethics, folks!  But, warm and cozy decor is helpful in putting clients at ease, imo.

I’m suppose to start in mid-Oct if all the paperwork is done.  I have a ton of research to do about the area in which I will be working.  I’ll have to drive about 50 minutes each way, but the commute is worth it to me.  I love the drive time to clear my head of all things “supermom” and transform in to “incredible intern”.  (Someone hold me!  What if I can’t save the world?)

Anyway, so next week starts the crazy that is Fall in our home.  But don’t let me fool you.  I love every minute of it.  Ds9 is playing club soccer and rec soccer this year so that will keep us busy.  Ds6 didn’t want to play any sports or do any activities other than art class.  Ds4 is in tumbling and a month of swim lessons.

And now I must plan lessons for next week.

Leave a Reply

