Let’s talk about schedules

That’s an explosive word in AP circles.  I’m not talking about baby feeding schedules.  Sorry, moms of new ones, I don’t believe feeding and sleeping schedules are the way to go. Now, I don’t believe they are terribly damaging, but I think there is a much better way. 

 I do believe strongly in routine.  The problem with routine is that, when your children are very young,  you have to be prepared to change that routine as your children’s sleep and food needs change.  But I’ve found that it’s good practice for how the routines of life change over time as your family grows, the children do various activities at different times of the year and no routine or schedule is exactly the same for more than a couple of months at a time.

Now that my children are preschool and school aged and I don’t have any babies or toddlers to nurse or parent to sleep it’s much easier to make a schedule.  I will post our schedule in another post because I love so much to see how other families days play out and maybe my schedule will help another mom to find more hours in her day. 

When I first thought about all I’d have to do this Fall, I gasped at the lack of time.  But when I schedule it all out, I find there is more than enough time for everything I need to do and most of what I want to do!

I recommend making your schedule pretty  like this one.  I had a notebook a couple of years that I decorated with pretty paper and embellishments and it held my cleaning schedule, menu planning pages, daily schedule, etc.  I tend to keep everything on the computer now since my guys don’t look at it anyway.  But pretty is motivating for me, I find.  🙂

Leave a Reply

