I am not a fan of old.  I refuse to age gracefully and plan to enter old age kicking and screaming.  I despise antiques and can’t simply appreciate something because it’s been around a long time.  And, I’m especially ready to say good riddance to 2010.  This year has only confirmed my beliefs about the need for new.

I’ve mentioned before that this was not a great year for us.  It was filled with loss, uncertainty and near tragedy.  However, I would be a liar if I didn’t admit that I’ve grown as a person this year.  I’ve grown as a wife and a mother also.  I can see the blessings that occurred in the midst and because of the painful things that happened.  My marriage is stronger and our old patterns of communication and living were broken and we were able to create new ways of doing things.  I am no longer in parenting survival mode as my children are getting older and more independent.

This year I’ve said good-bye to old things, old ways and I am better for it.  I welcome 2011 with open arms–no matter what it may hold.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

