Garden 2011-Phase II

About a week ago I took these pictures of my veggies and realized that it was time for Phase Two of the garden:

This part of the garden adventure requires the most work.  I began the work on Thursday and today my whole body is protesting any energy output.  My hands are sore and a bit dry.  My back is painful.  And I’m not finished yet.  When I am done I will hold my breath and begin the waiting.  Will these plants grow or will they stay the same size they were the day I planted them and eventually wither away?  Some will.  Some will grow amazingly well.

In the ground I have corn, butterhead lettuce, mesclun, carrots, cucumbers, broccoli, summer squash and butternut squash.

The squashes are going to have to work hard this year. I started to dig an area for my squash garden (’cause these puppies need their own area to sprawl or they will take over everything else in the garden.  Lesson learned.) but my back was not cooperating and I had to stop.   I threw some garden soil on top of the grass and planted away.  So, they may have some weeds to contend with this summer.  Not that it’s a problem for them. Ever.  In fact,  in the winter of 2009 I tossed butternut squash remains over the backyard fence for the birds.  In the summer of 2010 I had the most beautiful squash plants growing among the weeds, right there on my fence line.  In fact, it was so thick I had trouble finding the squash and, since this area of our yard tends to get a lot of run-off water and mud, most of them rotted before I could harvest them.  (It also took me a while before I noticed what I had growing there!)  I have no doubt my little squashes will grow well despite my lack of ground prep before planting them.

So far I have two separate garden beds.  One for squash and one for everything else.  Eventually I will add a third for pumpkins and watermelons.  Here is garden number two:

And some of the plants:

Strawberries

carrots

herbs, eggplant, watermelon, and a pumpkin or two . . . still growing slowly

precious peppers, hanging in there, waiting for warmer weather

more watermelon

My experiment this year.  Will the lettuce and mesclun grow better in the ground or in containers?

container lettuce

container mesclun

container tomatoes

Ds5’s radishes from preschool.  They are doing very well.

One response to this post.

  1. Looks like we’re about 1.5 months behind you! I am just planting seeds this weekend and hopefully they will be ready to plant in the ground mid-May. I had to go buy some heat mats cause our house is too cold and drafty. Hoping that makes the difference!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

