CVS–$156 for $19

I’m posting quickly today so I don’t have time for the exact numbers, but I paid less than $20 for all the products in the picture. I also have left $9 in ECB to use next week!  If you want to look up how much it would have all been at Walmart this week or to get the exact amount I would have paid at CVS without the help of coupons and ECB here is a list of exactly what I purchased:

(2) GUM eez-Thru angled flossers, Just Brushed Mint 75 ct
(1) Oral-B complete Advantage toothbrush Deep Clean, small, soft
(1) Oral-B Pro-Health CrossAction, medium
(1) Gas-X Chewables, Extra Strength, Peppermint Creme 18 ct
(3) Gas-X Softgels, Extra Strength, 20 ct
(4) Dawn bontanicals, jasmine & lavender 10.3 fl oz
(2) Crest Pro-Health Rinse, Multiprotection 16.9 fl oz
(2) Right Guard Total Defense 5 body wash (1=cooling, 1=refreshing)
(2) Aussie Moist Shampoo 13.5 fl oz
(2) Aussie Moist Conditioner 13.5 fl oz
(2) Aussie Cleanse & Mend Shampoo 13.5 fl oz
(2) Aussie Cleanse & Mend Conditioner 13.5 fl oz
(1) Softsoap Ultra Rich Shea Butter Creme 18 fl oz
(2) Softsoap Raspberry Sorbet & Almond Blossom 18 fl oz
(1) Gold Bond Ultimate Deep Moisture Body Wash, softening, Shea Butter, soft clean scent 12.5 fl oz
(1) Complete Multipurpose Solution, Easy Rub Formula  12 fl oz
(1) Charmin Basic 12 Double Rolls = 24 regular rolls

I am completely happy with the amount that I spent, however, I made a few mistakes today that could have saved me even more and that might help you someday if I share them.

First, I had a $5 of $40 purchase to use on my first transaction.  My mistake was that I forgot to hand the cashier that coupon before handing him my other coupons.  Rookie mistake!  You always want to hand over the dollar amount off of a certain dollar amount purchase first!  (In my defense, my oldest was tagging along today before his clay-building class and I was distracted. Honest.)  So, I spent $5 more on that first purchase than I wanted.  I also had to take a minute before my next transactions to recalculate what I should buy and in what order.  I was able to use that $5 of $40 on another transaction.

Next, when I purchased the Aussie shampoo and conditioner I used (4) BOGO coupons and (4) $1/2 coupons.  There is a very, very patient, coupon-savvy and kind-hearted cashier at this particular CVS, but even she didn’t catch this mistake at first.  She rang up the $1/2 coupons before the BOGO coupons.  I *think* the problem is that you can’t use a second coupon on a product which you got free through a BOGO coupon deal.  The cashier forced two of the BOGO coupons for me–which I did not ask her to do!–but couldn’t force the other two through.  She explained that she should have rung up the BOGOs first and then the $1/2s.  She offered to re-ring everything, but I didn’t want her to have to do that.  That’s when she forced the 2 BOGOs through for me.  I was grateful for her effort, but hoped she wouldn’t get in trouble.  The couponing lesson here, I think, is that if you are using a BOGO to get one free product, you cannot use a second coupon that will take money off of that free product.

An acceptable coupon scenario for my (8) bottles of Aussie would have been (4) BOGOs and (2) $1/2 coupons.

My last mistake was that I calculated incorrectly (don’t get your coupons ready in rush after soccer practice while trying to feed and shower three children, catch up emails from school/work and watch the weather for the impending severe storms) and when I tried to use my ECB on my first transaction, I had too many.  Iow, my purchase total would have been negative by less than a dollar.  Now, the cashiers CAN override that and make your order come out even (plus tax–ECB are applied to the sub-total and do not cover tax–although there is a way around that, I think) but apparently the cashier didn’t know that.  I had to pay that $3 out of pocket instead of using my $3 ECB.

The same thing happened in my last transaction (different store, different cashier) and I chose to loose $.12 of my ECB instead of paying $3 oop because my ECB made my subtotal negative.  Ideally, you would calculate your transactions so perfectly that you would be able to use exactly the ECB you have without losing a cent of them.  That’s usually how it goes.

I hope at least some of this made sense as I was typing it while helping ds5 and ds7 string together a necklace and wasn’t giving this post my full attention.

Couponers, if you have anything to add to help this make more sense, please comment!

One response to this post.

  1. That is impressive! Coupons scare me. I’m not sure why, but I think one day I’ll branch out and give it a shot. lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

