WUWU

WUWU?  What’s up with us.  This is a WUWU post.  Because I’m sure everyone is hyperventilating to know.  Right?

A week ago, ds5 graduated from preschool.  My baby.  Graduated from preschool.  Already.  So far I’ve done some sad sniffling in the shower, but no full-blown sobs (yet), over this stage of our life ending.  My oldest was two when he first attended this preschool and it has been a huge part of our lives for the past eight years.  No more car lines, holiday parties, field trips, Thanksgiving programs, snack baskets, and hand print artwork.  For eight years this has been our normal.  Now we must move on to a new normal.  And I can’t call these extra pounds “baby weight” anymore.

Last Saturday ds9 competed in the State Track and Field meet and came in second place in the 800m.  I am so proud of him.  He has really worked hard.  His dedication to sports amazes me.  His body is a machine.  Exercise is playing and play has a purpose in his world.

I have started a new part-time job.  I work from home and enjoy the work, but am finding it difficult to work the maximum number of hours I’m allowed.  So far, I’ve only been able to work the minimum number.

I’m nearly 1/3 of the way through this semester.  It’s not been an easy one.  I have a paper due weekly, as well as other assignments.  I was hoping for an easier summer semester, but it is not to be.  My goal is to have all of the papers written by week 8 of the semester, but leaves me only three weeks to write 6 papers. Here’s to hoping.

Our car broke down last week.  I was alone, on my way home from my internship.  It was the transmission.  Last night the van began to behave in exactly the same way that the car did before it broke down.  I don’t feel safe driving the commute into work, so I cancelled my clients for tomorrow.  Hopefully our car will be fixed then and we can leave the van with the mechanic.  Two transmissions.  Ugh.

And today the plumber cracked open a toilet in our driveway–the same toilet on which all of my babies were potty trained–to free his auger and the freight car of one of Thomas’ friends.

And this is life our way.

Leave a Reply

